Interreg - European Regional Development Fund - European Union

Interreg V-A Italy-Austria 2014-2020

The Interreg V-A Italy-Austria program is a cross border program under the European Territorial Cooperation Goal for the programming period 2014-2020, aiming to support a balanced and sustainable development and a harmonious integration of the border region between Italy and Austria. The program is funded by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) as well as national public contributions for a total of 98 million euro.

With these funds, the programme promotes Italian-Austrian cooperation projects in the fields of research and innovation, nature and culture, institutional capacity and community led local development.

The main aim of the programme is to strengthen territorial cooperation and to maintain the quality of life and competitiveness in the border area between Italy and Austria. These objectives will be achieved through actions aimed at overcoming border barriers, creating new cross-border synergies, increasing territorial attractiveness, increasing sustained regional growth and achieving high levels of employment, productivity, and social cohesion.

Eligible Area

With an area of over 50,000 square kilometers and a population of over 5.5 million inhabitants (in 2013), the eligible area of the cross border program extends for a total of 19 NUTS-3 areas in the border region between Italy and Austria.

Compared to previous programming periods, the area of cooperation for the period 2014-2020 has been extended: former areas of flexibility were included as full program areas.

As a general rule, the project beneficiaries should be based in the eligible area and all project activities should be carried out within it. The Lead Partner must, in any case, be based in the area of cooperation. A cooperation with beneficiaries based outside this area, including cooperation with other Interreg programmes, is possible, provided that their participation is an increase in quality of the partnership and project content, adds additional value to the eligible area and their being funded with ERDF funds is unanimously approved by all participating regions to the programme.

The eligible area of the Interreg V-A Italy-Austria 2014-2020 includes:


Priority Axes

The programme strategy is built upon the objectives and requirements of Europe 2020 and CTE, as well as on a Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats analysis carried out in the programme area in order to determine how the programme funding should be allocated in order to achieve the maximum development towards a balanced and sustainable development and a harmonious integration of the border region. In addition, stakeholders and the public were involved in the drafting. Building on this, the Interreg V-A Italy-Austria programme has outlined four priority axes, in the context of which the programme will support cross border projects over the next seven years.

Click on the icons for further details.


Programme Bodies

To ensure an effective management and proper implementation, the programme disposes of the following organizational structures.

Managing Authority

The Managing Authority holds the overall responsibility for the management, implementation, and monitoring of the program. It acts as an interface between the European Commission and the programme regions and signs the Interreg funding contract with the Lead Partner.

Regional Coordination Unit

They are established for each participating region to the programme, which acts as an interface between the programme bodies and the beneficiaries and is thus the first point of reference for potential beneficiaries. Furthermore, it verifies the project synergies with national and regional strategies and policies.

Joint Secretariat

The Joint Secretariat is hosted by the Managing Authority and assists the programme bodies and committees in carrying out their tasks. Also, it supports the beneficiaries in all administrative matters of the project implementation.

First Level Control

The First Level Control consists of the control of the expenditures reported by beneficiaries. There is one First Level Control in every participating region to the programme.

Certifying Authority

The Certifying Authority is designated to prepare and submit requests for payment of ERDF funds and to receive these funds from the European Commission. In addition, it pays the Financial claims of projects after they have been approved by the First Level Control.

Audit Authority

The Audit Authority is charged with checking the effectiveness of the financial control system set up by the Managing Authority. It reviews the system as a whole and also carries out specific audits on a sample of projects to check the correct functioning of the system.

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is composed of representatives of each programme region. Representatives of the two Member States have an observatory role. The Steering Committee assists the Managing Authority in assuming its responsibilities.

Monitoring Committee

Representatives of the Monitoring Committee are the Member States, environmental authorities, economic and social partners, equal opportunities and local bodies as well as the program regions, while the European Commission has an advisory role. It guarantees the quality of the implementation of the programme.


Programme documents are available in Italian and German only.

Download page


Last modified: 8/1/2017