Interreg - European Regional Development Fund - European Union

CLLD: Community-Led Local Development

CLLD is a bottom-up local development method to engage local actors in the design and delivery of strategies, decision-making and resource allocation for the development of their rural areas and to address social, economic and environmental challenges.

Based on the Leader approach, the European Commission has launched the CLLD approach to facilitate and guarantee the implementation of the objectives of the Europe 2020 strategy at the local scale by involving relevant local actors, including local organizations and associations, as well as individual citizens.

The strengths of the CLLD lie in the opportunities it offers to effectively and sustainably meet the challenges of the economic crisis by intervening exactly where problems arise and prevail and develop appropriate solutions by combining the expertise of a variety of local actors. In addition, its participatory approach promotes the self-responsibility and commitment of the local actors and generates stimuli for a sustained dynamism of future development.

CLLD is an integrated approach: funding can be obtained from several funds at the same time, for example from ESF and ERDF, Leader, ESF, and ERDF etc.

The cooperation programme Interreg V-A Italy-Austria does pioneering work in the field of local development, as the implementation of the CLLD approach is unique across Europe in the context of European Territorial Cooperation.

CLLD regions

The implementation of the CLLD will be carried out in selected cross-border areas covering in the case of Interreg V-A Italy-Austria not less than 20 000 and not more than 200 000 inhabitants. These areas were defined by local actors in the Interreg V-A Italy-Austria cooperation area, who formed a partnership and applied as CLLD region to the Managing authority within the scope of a dedicated call.

In the cooperation area of Interreg V-A Italy-Austria have been approved four CLLD regions:

  • "Dolomiti Live": Osttirol, Pustertal, Alto Bellunese
  • "HEurOpen": Hermagor, Gemonese, Canal del Ferro e Val Canale, Carnia
  • "Terra Raetica": Landeck, Imst, Vinschgau, Engiadina Bassa
  • "Wipptal": Wipptal Tirol, Wipptal Südtirol

CLLD Gebiete Interreg V-A Italien-Österreich


Each CLLD region developments its own strategy, which contains the definition of the area as well as an analysis of the needs and potential of this area. Accordingly, the CLLD strategy sets the goals for sustainable social, economic and environmental development in the area and defines measures to achieve these objectives. An action plan for the implementation of these measures is set out and the involvement of the local community is clearly described.

The CLLD strategies are designed and implemented by cross-border Local Action Groups (LAG), composed of representatives of local public and private socio-economic interest groups. In the Interreg V-A Italy-Austria cooperation area, the following strategies were approved by the Steering Committee:


Calls for the presentation of small and medium projects

One of the key measures to achieve the objectives identified in the development strategy is the funding of small projects with the financial support of up to EUR 50,000 and medium projects with the financial support of up to EUR 200,000.

The small and medium projects are presented within the scope of dedicated calls. Both the preparation and publication of these calls, as well as the definition of the selection criteria and the evaluation of the presented projects fall within the competence of the LAG. The Managing Authority and Regional coordination units of cooperation programme have an advisory and monitoring function, which is more pronounced in the field of medium projects.

Project proposals for small and medium projects may be presented within the scope of the following calls:

Documents on CLLD

Documents on CLLD are available in Italian and German only.

Download page


Media reports


Last modified: 3/6/2019